Board of Directors

Restore Justice Illinois was founded by a dedicated group of activists and advocates who were tired of watching important but thorny criminal justice reform efforts get sidelined.   We are volunteer-driven and our board is drawn from affected communities, academic leaders, and local and national heavyweights from the reform movement.

Garien Gatewood



Program Director

Illinois Justice Project

Cathy Aguilar


Criminal Justice Advocate

Jeanne Bishop



Change of Heart: Justice, Mercy, and Making Peace with My Sister’s Killer

Jobi Cates*


Founder & Executive Director

Restore Justice

Howard Conant


Founder & President

Urban Innovations, LLC

Bernardine Dohrn


Civic Leader

Kevin Gallagher


Civic Leader

Mickey Gaynor


Civic Leader

De Gray


Civic Leader

Jeff Howard


Former Legal Director

Campaign for the Fair Sentencing of Youth

Corrie Leech


Director of Media Relations


Marvin Lindsey



Community Behavioral Healthcare Association of Illinois

Fred Weatherspoon


Formerly Incarcerated Caseworker

Precious Blood Ministry of Reconciliation

Judy Wise


Co-Founder and Former Director

Facing History-Chicago

Angel Ysaguirre


Executive Director

Court Theater

*Ex-officio member

Restore Justice Illinois mourns the passing of Abner Mikva, a founding member of our organization, whose commitment to criminal justice reform in Illinois inspires our work and drives us to push for change every day.
  • Thank you for your interest.

    Please leave us a message and we will respond as soon as possible.

      Your Name (required)

      Your Email (required)

      Your Phone Number

      Your Message

    • Join Us In Our Fight To Restore Justice.

      Submit your email address to be notified of crucial legislative action items, fundraisers, and news about our progress.

        Your Name (required)

        Your Email (required)